The University of New England, the University of New South Wales, and Macquarie University have pathway programs that enable students to undertake first-year university courses while finishing their secondary schooling. This program is open to students who have accelerated in at least one HSC course and achieved high-level results, or who have otherwise demonstrated outstanding academic achievement.

Applications will need the support of school principals, and are to be made via the universities.